StageQ is currently run by a group of dedicated volunteers who meet monthly both as a board and as various committees. We are also fortunate to have a wide network of volunteers and staff who help StageQ's various committees and fill various roles within the company. All of these individuals are critical to StageQ's existence and have been since the beginning.


Zak Stowe (he/him) - President

Zak began volunteering with StageQ as their Technical Director in 2016 before being elected President in 2018. Zak also serves as StageQ's Marketing Director, Graphic Designer, Webmaster, and Interim-Production Manager. Aside from these responsibilities, Zak is also an award-winning lighting designer having previously worked with numerous theatre companies in Wisconsin and Minnesota. He also recently directed StageQ's productions of "Southern Baptist Sissies" and "Dog Sees God" He previously served as Technical Director for State Street Theatre Company, Lighting Specialist for Full Compass Systems, and Lighting Supervisor for the Overture Center. Zak also serves as the Vice-President of the Bartell Theatre Foundation Board of Directors, and spends weekends touring with Tora!Tora!Tora! as an airshow pyrotechnician. StageQ has quickly become a home and Zak feels so lucky to be a part of this family of artists and community supporters. Welcome to our family.

Ryan Main-Luu (he/him) - Vice President

Ryan is a recent addition to the Madison community from Southern California. While driving through the midwest he made a goal to be more involved in the queer community and focus his efforts back into his passion of meaningful live theater. StageQ is the perfect combination of these two things. Ryan received a certificate in Technical Theater and Design from PCPA Theaterfest on the central coast of California and has been working professionally at large scale venues such as Overture Center in Front-of-House operations since. He is excited to keep meeting new people and experience new things here in Madison. Let the adventure continue!

Mike Webber (he/him) - Treasurer 

I have the privilege of serving as Treasurer of StageQ! The fact that there is a local theater company like StageQ is one of the special things about living in Madison, and I am passionate about its efforts to work toward a more inclusive and loving community. I appreciate that the company provides a respite for segments of the population that are often-times marginalized, and StageQ is an organization that helps everyone celebrate the diversity and talent of the local LBGTQ+ community. I have enormous respect for the hard work and talent necessary to put on the shows that we do, and our productions evoke thoughts and feelings in me that I don’t get anywhere else. I am grateful to our volunteers, donors, sponsors, audiences, community partners, and everyone else who helps make StageQ the exceptional organization that it is!

Photo Not Available

James Van Abel (he/him- Secretary

James is queer, trans, and passionate about theatre. He has always loved theatre for its ability to build communities and provide healing/respite through storytelling, and was drawn to the StageQ theatre company by its additional mission for representation. Combining his love for the arts and social justice, James has a particular interest in making theatre equitable and accessible for all who wish to participate (as actor, production staff, audience member, etc.). He hopes to use his position on the board to help the theatre continue and grow into a space where all members of the queer/LGBTQ+ community can be seen, can be heard, and can just be.

Amber Palmer (they/theirs) - At Large, Festival Committee Co-Chair

Amber Palmer's plays have been seen across the country, including Activate Midwest, Flint Repertory Theatre, Bristol Valley Theatre, and Pegasus PlayLab. A monologue from their play “It’s a Small World (or The Robot Play)” is published in Best Men’s Monologues of 2019. Awards include City Theatre's National Award for Short Playwriting (finalist, 2019), Tipping Point Theatre’s Sandbox Play Festival (2nd place, 2019) and Gary Garrison 10 Minute Play Award (Region 3 finalist, 2018). They were Artist-in-Resident at The Mitten Lab in 2019 and resident playwright at Queer Theatre Kalamazoo in the 2019-2020 season. They graduated with their MFA in playwriting from Western Michigan University in spring 2020 and recently moved to Madison to pursue their PhD in Interdisciplinary Theatre Studies at the University of Wisconsin Madison. They have a deep passion for new play development and supporting new voices through dramaturgy, writing communities, theater education and new work directing. They are so excited to be joining the StageQ board and the Madison theater community! 

Traci Marett (she/her- At Large

When I moved to Madison in the Summer of 2018, I set an intention of finding community. Since then, I have found many meaningful, individual friendships. Joining the board of StageQ will help me start giving back to the vibrant queer community in Madison. I have a background that includes everything from leading a Girlscout Troop to managing a substance abuse treatment center. The common thread is that I love to create spaces and opportunities for people to let their best selves shine through.

Chloe Honeyman-Blaede (she/her- At Large, Operations Committee Chair

Chloe is a transplant from Chicago where she worked in the store front theatre community for over 15 years. Upon moving to Madison she met Zak and was introduced to Stage Q. She was so impressed with the body of work and the community that she had to become a part of it. She graduated from Columbia College Chicago with a BA in Technical Theatre, concentration in lighting design in 2012. She is an ensemble member with Silent Theatre Company and has lit and stage managed various productions with Prop Thtr, Factory Theater and TUTA. She has a passion for creating atmosphere and the inner workings of play making.



Zak Stowe - Chair

Isabella Anastasia Leigh

Ryan Main-Luu

Traci Marett

Amber Palmer

James Van Abel


Ryan Main-Luu - Chair

Harry Main-Luu

Traci Marett

Zak Stowe

Mike Webber


Donnovan Moen - Co-Chair

Amber Palmer - Co-Chair

Isabella Anastasia Leigh